HomeBusinessSeventh Annual Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest Announced

Seventh Annual Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest Announced

Amazon Publishing has announced the annual Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) contest. The 2014 ABNA contest is open to unpublished and self-published English-language novels submitted from February 16, 2014 through March 2, 2014 or until 10,000 eligible entries are received, whichever is earlier. Authors can submit their work in the categories of general fiction, mystery/thriller, romance, science fiction/fantasy/horror, and young adult fiction. A finalist will be chosen from each category with one Grand Prize winner receiving an Amazon Publishing contract and a $50,000 advance. Four additional finalists will receive an Amazon Publishing contract and a $15,000 advance.

download (37)

The selection process of this contest is as follows:

  •  First Round: Amazon-selected editors will choose the top 400 pitch entries from each category to advance to the next round.
  • Second Round: Select Amazon Vine reviewers will read excerpts of the entries and narrow the pool to 100 titles in each category. Throughout the year customers are invited to become Amazon Vine reviewers based on the trust they’ve earned in the Amazon community for writing accurate and insightful reviews.
  • Quarter-Finals: Reviewers from Publishers Weekly will read, review and rate the full manuscripts to find the top five semi-finalists for each category.
  • Semi-Finals: Amazon Publishing editors will lead a panel of judges who will choose a finalist in each of the five categories, announced on July 8, 2014.
  • Final Round: In the last stage of the contest, Amazon.com customers will select the Grand Prize winner from among the five finalists.

For the complete Official Rules for the 2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award and more information about the contest, please visit www.amazon.com/abna.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Articles